

## CENTRAL COUNCIL Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska

Office of the President • Edward K. Thomas Building 9097 Glacier Highway • Juneau, Alaska 99801

## Executive Council of the Central Council TLINGIT & HAIDA INDIAN TRIBES OF ALASKA

Resolution EC 23-36

Title: Authorized Signers for Official Tribal Documents

WHEREAS, the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska (Tlingit & Haida) is a federally recognized tribe with more than 35,000 citizens; and

WHEREAS, under Article X of the Tlingit & Haida Constitution, the Executive Council is the governing body of Tlingit & Haida when the Tribal Assembly is not in session; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Assembly is not in session; and

WHEREAS, the Tlingit & Haida Constitution authorizes the President to execute official Tribal documents on behalf of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, Richard J. Peterson is the elected President of Tlingit & Haida; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to designate members of the Tribe's administration to execute official Tribal documents in his absence;

WHEREAS, staffing changes have occurred which require updating the list of authorized signers on official Tribal documents;

Toll Free 800.344.1432 www.ccthita-nsn.gov Direct 907.586.1432

EC Resolution 23-36 Page 2

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Executive Council of the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska hereby authorizes the following members of the Tribe's administration to sign any and all official Tribal documents in the absence of the President:

Primary: Roald Helgesen, Chief Operating Officer; Secondary: Karen Taug, Interim Chief Financial Officer; Tertiary: William Ware, Chief Development Officer; and First Alternate: Madeline Soboleff Levy, General Counsel.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution supersedes all prior resolutions regarding authorized signers for the Tribe.

ADOPTED this 28<sup>th</sup> day of April 2023, by the Executive Council of the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, by a vote of 6 yeas, 0 nays, 0 abstentions and 0 absences.

**CERTIFY** 

President Richard J. Peterson

**ATTEST** 

Tribal Secretary Jacqueline L. Pata