

CENTRAL COUNCIL Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska

Office of the President • Edward K. Thomas Building 9097 Glacier Highway • Juneau, Alaska 99801

Executive Council of the Central Council TLINGIT & HAIDA INDIAN TRIBES OF ALASKA

Resolution EC 21-28

Title: Authorization for a Limited Waiver of Sovereign Immunity for the Native American Agriculture Fund Grant

WHEREAS, the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska (Tlingit & Haida) is a federally recognized tribe with more than 32,000 citizens; and

WHEREAS, under Article X of the Tlingit & Haida Constitution, the Executive Council is the governing body of Tlingit & Haida when the Tribal Assembly is not in session; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Assembly is not in session; and

WHEREAS, Tlingit & Haida has been advised of a grant through the Native American Agricultural Fund (NAAF) and, if authorized, will apply for such grant in the Agriculture Infrastructure, Climate Resilience and Conservation, and Youth-Led Program categories; and

WHEREAS, tribal governments provided funding through NAAF are required by the Trust Agreement to provide NAAF a limited waiver of sovereign immunity for the amount of funding provided to the Tribe, covering the period of the grant, if awarded; and

WHEREAS, the NAAF Trust Agreement requires Tlingit & Haida, provide this limited waiver of sovereign immunity to NAAF in a timely manner after notification of the award and prior to award funds distribution;

Toll Free 800.344.1432 www.ccthita-nsn.gov Direct 907.586.1432

EC Resolution 21-28 Page 2

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that if awarded a grant through NAAF, the Executive Council of the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska hereby waives the Tribe's sovereign immunity only as to NAAF, only to allow for the enforcement of the terms of the grant awarded and in any event for no longer that two years after the start of the one year grant term.

ADOPTED this 21st day of May 2021, by the Executive Council of the Central Council of Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, by a vote of 6 yeas, 0 nays, 0 abstentions and 0 absences.

CERTIFY

President Richard J. Peterson

ATTEST

Tribal Secretary Ralph Wolfe